Sat 09 Dec 2023

In Pictures: FIA Prize Giving

The most successful crews and team in this year's FIA World Rally Championship were honoured during a glittering FIA Prize Giving ceremony in Baku, Azerbaijan, on Friday night.

Kalle Rovanperä and co-driver Jonne Halttunen picked up their driver and co-driver trophies, while team principal Jari-Matti Latvala gratefully accepted the manufacturers’ championship trophy on behalf of Toyota Gazoo Racing.

Rovanperä, who made history last year by becoming the WRC’s youngest champion at the age of 22, doubled up in 2023 by securing back-to-back crowns. He and Halttunen won rounds in Portugal, Estonia, and Greece.

Reflecting on his season, Rovanperä said: “This one was a bit more hard work than last year. After the new cars last year, the championship was a bit more unequal among the teams, and everybody had to learn.

"This year was more of a fight, but we were really consistent, and that was the key point this year.”

Elfyn Evans was unable to attend the ceremony as he recovers from damaged ribs after a biking accident, but his co-driver Scott Martin was on hand to collect their awards for finishing second in the championship. Hyundai Motorsport duo Thierry Neuville and Martijn Wydaeghe were also present to pick up their third-place trophies.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 8:30:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 9:30:00 AM