Fri 28 Apr 2023

Entry List: Vodafone Rally de Portugal

Vodafone Rally de Portugal (11 - 14 May) has attracted a mighty entry, with almost 90 cars set to tackle round five of this year’s FIA World Rally Championship.

Organiser Automóvel Club de Portugal released a list earlier this month which contains eight top-flight Rally1 cars and an incredible 44 entries in WRC2, the premier support category for Rally2-specification vehicles.

Leading manufacturer Toyota Gazoo Racing fields a trio of GR Yaris cars for Croatia Rally winner Elfyn Evans, defending WRC champion Kalle Rovanperä plus Takamoto Katsuta, who replaces an absent Sébastien Ogier.

Thierry Neuville and Esapekka Lappi head up Hyundai’s charge alongside Spaniard Dani Sordo, who steers the team’s third i20 N on his first outing since Guanajuato Rally México in March. M-Sport Ford, meanwhile, has entered a pair of Pumas for Ott Tänak and Pierre-Louis Loubet.

WRC2 welcomes a familiar face as Andreas Mikkelsen, winner of the series in 2021, returns to action aboard a Toksport-prepared Škoda Fabia RS. Other stars joining the Norwegian in the team include Gus Greensmith and Marco Bulacia, while Oliver Solberg drives a similar steed.

Teemu Suninen and Fabrizio Zaldivar resume their campaigns in works-supported Hyundai i20s, while Kris Meeke - a five-time WRC rally winner - makes his WRC2 debut for Team Hyundai Portugal. Representing the Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy are Josh McErlean and Junior WRC regular Eamonn Kelly, who steps up to Rally2 machinery for the first time at this level.

Citroën is also well represented with championship leader Yohan Rossel, Alejandro Cachón and Alberto Heller among those driving C3 Rally2 cars, while Adrien Fourmaux and Grégoire Munster fly the flag for M-Sport Ford.

In WRC3, flying Finns Roope Korhonen and Toni Herranen both field M-Sport Poland-built Ford Fiesta Rally3 cars.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM