Mon 27 Mar 2023

Entry List: Croatia Rally

Sébastien Ogier tops a talent-packed Croatia Rally (20 - 23 April) entry, round four of this year’s FIA World Rally Championship.

A total of 57 cars will start the challenging asphalt fixture, which makes its third appearance on the WRC calendar. At the top of the list is Ogier, winner of the event when it debuted back in 2021. He did not compete in 2022.

Despite only driving part-time for Toyota Gazoo Racing this season, Ogier tops the championship by three points after his victory earlier this month at Guanajuato Rally México. The Frenchman’s standing means he will start first in the order in Zagreb, benefiting from cleaner, less polluted roads.

Joining Ogier in a four-strong GR Yaris line-up is reigning champion and last year’s Croatia winner Kalle Rovanperä as well as Elfyn Evans, runner-up in 2020. Takamoto Katsuta completes the quartet but will not score manufacturers’ championship points.

Croatia Rally 2022: Event Highlights

Thierry Neuville, second in the points, heads a trio of Hyundai i20 N cars alongside Esapekka Lappi, who will be hoping to make up for his Mexico retirement. Craig Breen replaces Dani Sordo in the Korean manufacturer squad’s third car having finished second overall on his last outing at Rally Sweden.

M-Sport Ford fields two Puma cars for Ott Tänak and Pierre-Louis Loubet. Tänak finished second overall on his last visit to Croatia - missing out on victory by just 4.3sec to Rovanperä in the Wolf Power Stage.  

WRC2 leader Oliver Solberg is the highest-seeded driver in Rally2 machinery, although the Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 youngster has chosen not to count the event as a points-scoring round. His decision could open the door for round one winner Yohan Rossel to reclaim the top spot in his Citroën C3 Rally2.

Emil Lindholm, Gus Greensmith and Sami Pajari will also pilot Toksport-run Fabia cars, while other WRC2 entrants include M-Sport Ford’s Adrien Fourmaux as well as Hyundai man Georg Linnamäe. The WRC Masters Cup is also well supported with entries from Mauro Miele and Armin Kremer to name just a few.

The rally plays host to round two of the one-make FIA Junior WRC series, for which eight entries have been received. Among those driving M-Sport Poland-prepared Ford Fiesta Rally3s are Laurent Pellier, William Creighton and Diego Dominguez.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM