Sun 22 Jan 2023

BREAKING Gryazin penalty hands Rossel WRC2 win

Yohan Rossel has been crowned the WRC2 winner at Rallye Monte-Carlo after event stewards handed Nikolay Gryazin a five-second penalty, dropping him to second.

Gryazin, who led the Monaco-based fixture from start to finish, topped the timesheets by just 4.5sec from Rossel at the final control on Sunday afternoon.

However, Rossel’s PH Sport team later lodged a protest against the Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 driver, claiming Gryazin had breached Article 19.2 of the 2023 FIA WRC Sporting Regulations by cutting a corner 13.2km into SS14 on Saturday evening.

After reviewing the evidence submitted and checking onboard footage from Gryazin’s car, event stewards upheld the protest – penalising Gryazin by 5.0sec, making Rossel the victor by just 0.5sec.

It is a bittersweet victory for Rossel. At EKO Acropolis Rally Greece in 2021, the Citroën C3 driver found himself on the receiving end of penalties when he was denied victory after his car failed post-event scrutineering.

Pos. Crew Car Time
1. Yohan ROSSEL / Arnaud DUNAND Citroën C2 Rally2 3hr 22min 09.9sec
2. Nikolay GRYAZIN / Konstantin ALEKSANDROV Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 +0.5sec
3. Pepe LÓPEZ / Borja ROZADA Hyundai i20 N Rally2 +1min 06.2sec
4. Erik CAIS / Petr TESINSKY Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 +1min 25.9sec
5. Adrien FOURMAUX / Alex CORIA Ford Fiesta Rally2 +1min 51.9sec
6. Christopher INGRAM / Craig DREW Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo +3min 2.2sec
Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM