Fri 06 Jan 2023

Rovanperä takes home 2022 Driver of the Year award in WRC fan poll

Kalle Rovanperä has been voted as the 2022 WRC Driver of the Year by fans in a poll conducted on over the month of December.

The Toyota Gazoo Racing driver, who made history by becoming the youngest WRC champion in history, won a decisive 72 per cent of the vote, easily securing the top spot.

WRC2 champion Emil Lindholm came in second place with 17 per cent of the vote, while Junior WRC winner Robert Virves rounded out the top three with 12 per cent of the vote.

Rovanperä enjoyed a stellar season in th 2022 FIA World Rally Championship. Co-driven by fellow Finn Jonne Halttunen, he secured six victories in 2022 to clinch the title with two rounds to spare.

Aged just 22, he cemented his place as one of the sport’s greatest drivers after surpassing the record previously held by Colin McRae by more than five years. 

Rovanperä will no doubt be aiming to defend his title in 2023, once again at the wheel of his trusty GR Yaris. The season kicks off in less than two weeks at Rallye Monte-Carlo (19 - 22 January).

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM