Sat 10 Dec 2022

In Pictures: FIA Prize Giving

The most successful crews and team in this year's FIA World Rally Championship were honoured during a glittering FIA Prize Giving ceremony in Bologna on Friday night.

The stars of the WRC joined prize winners from other FIA championships – including Formula One – at the Fiera di Bologna in the heart of Italy’s stunning Emilia-Romagna region for the traditional end of season celebration.

Kalle Rovanperä and co-driver Jonne Halttunen picked up their driver and co-driver trophies – which were presented by nine-time world champion Sébastien Loeb – while team principal Jari-Matti Latvala gratefully accepted the manufacturer trophy on behalf of Toyota Gazoo Racing.

Rovanperä won an impressive six out of 13 rallies aboard his GR Yaris and clinched the title at Repco Rally New Zealand with two rounds to spare. In doing so, he became the WRC’s youngest-ever champion - just one day after his 22nd birthday.

“It has been an amazing season, especially getting the first title is always the most difficult one to cope with the pressure,” said the Finn. “This season was really good for us, with new Rally1 cars and the hybrid system, and we were quick to learn the car and strongly on the pace. 

“We didn’t expect it to happen so soon but we were always pushing, and I don’t think that I’m young when I’m in the car, I just try to do the best possible.”

Also taking to the FIA stage was Martin Järveoja, who collected the runner-up silverware on behalf of himself and driver Ott Tänak, while Thierry Neuville and co-driver Martijn Wydaeghe received their prizes for finishing third.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM