Fri 08 Jul 2022

Secto Rally Finland: Entry List

Twelve hybrid-powered Rally1 cars feature in a top-quality 45-car entry list for Secto Rally Finland (4 - 7 August) revealed on Friday.

The eighth round of the FIA World Rally Championship also boasts a star-studded support category line-up, with a combined total of 22 WRC2 and WRC3 competitors lining up for one of rallying’s most historic fixtures. 

Championship leader Kalle Rovanperä tops the list and he is joined by Toyota Gazoo Racing team-mates Elfyn Evans and home hero Esapekka Lappi, who claimed his first and only WRC win at the event in 2017. Japanese driver Takamoto Katsuta rounds off a four-pronged GR Yaris attack. 

Hyundai Motorsport’s i20 N regulars Thierry Neuville and Ott Tänak are joined by Oliver Solberg. It will be the 20-year-old’s first time driving a top-tier machine at the Jyvaskylä-based fixture.

M-Sport Ford fields an expanded five-car Puma squad, with local boy Jari Huttunen stepping up from WRC2 to make his debut in rallying’s leading category. 

Craig Breen leads the British team along with Gus Greensmith and Adrien Fourmaux, plus hard-charging Frenchman Pierre-Louis Loubet. 

The 17-strong WRC2 entry is headed by Finn Emil Lindholm. Team-mate Nikolay Gryazin joins him in a Toksport Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo. 

Hyundai’s second-tier squad is represented by i20 N Rally2 duo Teemu Suninen and Fabrizio Zaldivar, with Kiwi Hayden Paddon also running a privately-entered i20 car supported by Hyundai New Zealand. 

Egon Kaur, Eerik Pietarinen and Georg Linnamäe will drive Volkswagen Polos, while native entrants include FIA Junior WRC champion Sami Pajari and Mikko Heikkilä in Škoda cars.

Lauri Joona tops the all-Ford Fiesta Rally3 WRC3 entry for his home round. He’ll face pressure from four-wheel drive debutant Toni Herranen - usually a Junior ERC frontrunner with a Rally4-specification Fiesta - plus Czech driver Jan Cêrny.

Further down the order, Justus Räikkönen - nephew of Formula 1 world champion Kimi - makes his WRC debut in a Peugeot 208 Rally4.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM