Thu 20 Jan 2022

WRC Support Categories explained

The FIA World Rally Championship’s support categories have undergone significant changes for the 2022 campaign. To help you find your way around the classes, here are the key facts you need to know ahead of this week’s opening round at Rallye Monte-Carlo (20 - 23 January).

Who competes in WRC2?

WRC2 is the home for all Rally2 cars, the sport’s second tier behind the new hybrid-powered Rally1 cars. The main cars to look out for are:

  • Citroën C3
  • Ford Fiesta
  • Hyundai i20 N
  • Skoda Fabia
  • Volkswagen Polo GTI
How does the WRC2 Open Championship work?

Every round of the WRC season features WRC2, but drivers and co-drivers can only nominate seven scoring rounds. Their best six results count.

Are there other classes within WRC2?

Yes. Drivers and co-drivers under the age of 30 are eligible for the WRC2 Junior Championship. At the other end of the spectrum, drivers and co-drivers over the age of 50 are eligible for the WRC Masters Cup.

How does the WRC2 Teams’ Championship work?

Some drivers competing in WRC2 will also be scoring points for teams, such as Toksport and Saintéloc Racing. A team can nominate two drivers per rally to score. Teams can enter up to six rallies in Europe and one long-haul event. Their five best European scores and the long-haul rally will determine their final standing.

Are there Power Stage points?

Yes, the three fastest drivers on the final stage of the weekend will score three, two and one points towards their overall championship standing.

What do the letters stand for next to a driver’s name on the entry sheet in WRC2?

The letters next to a driver pairing on the entry list notify what categories they are nominated for. This is what each letter stands for:

  • T –Teams championship
  • D –Drivers championship
  • C – Co-drivers championship
  • DJ – Drivers Championship and Junior Cup
  • DM – Drivers championship and Masters Cup
  • CJ – Co-drivers championship and Junior Cup
  • CM – Co-drivers championship and Masters Cup
How does WRC3 work in 2022?

The new-look WRC3 is exclusively for 4WD cars in the Rally3 category. Currently only M-Sport Poland’s Ford Fiesta Rally3 is eligible.

What about the FIA Junior WRC?

The FIA Junior WRC takes place over five rounds and for the first time ever will be for 4WD Ford Fiesta Rally3 Cars prepared by M-Sport Poland. The Junior WRC remains a standalone world championship but contenders are also eligible for the outright WRC3 title.

More news
Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM