Teaser Image

Volkswagen Motorsport

Team Profile

Team Summary


Based:  DEU
Established: 2011
Principal: Jost Capito
Drivers: Sebastien Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala
Tyres: Michelin

Essential information

Volkswagen made history in 2013 when it became the first manufacturer to win both the drivers’ and manufacturers’ titles in its debut WRC season.

The German–based team arrived in the WRC claiming modest expectations, but its exhaustive test programme and well-drilled rally preparations meant success was never far away.

When the team made its debut in Monte-Carlo, it had spent 17 months preparing for the competition. Its all-new Polo R world rally car had completed 100 days of pre season testing, while the team and its star driver Sebastien Ogier had carried out a season-long dress rehearsal running a Skoda S2000.

Ogier kicked things off with a fastest time on the opening stage in Monte-Carlo, before taking Volkswagen’s first victory a month later in Sweden. Seven wins later, he took the drivers’ title at Rallye de France. Winning the manufacturers’ title soon after was the icing on the cake.

In 2014 the Volkswagen Motorsport team is back with the same drivers; Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvala. Volkswagen’s third driver, Andreas Mikkelsen, will drive for the separately registered Volkswagen Motorsport II team.

Social media

Tour de Corse