Teaser Image

Hyundai Shell World Rally Team

Team Profile

Team Summary


Based:  DEU
Established: 2012
Principal: Michel Nandan
Drivers: Thierry Neuville, Dani Sordo, Juho Hanninen, Chris Atkinson
Tyres: Michelin

Essential information

Hyundai will make its return to WRC competition in 2014 with an all-new team and ambitious long-term plans for success in rallying’s top class.

The Korean firm isn’t new to the WRC. It competed in the F2 category between 1998 and 2000, before switching to a world rally car version of its Accent saloon until 2003.

Hyundai’s return was heralded by the unveiling of a prototype i20 world rally car at the Paris Motor Show in September 2012. Things moved quickly, with the establishment three months later of a new motorsport base in Germany.

Former Peugeot WRC technical head Michel Nandan was brought in to oversee the task of creating a fully operational team, a rally-specification i20 and developing a brand new motorsport facility - all from scratch and in 12 months.

At the wheel throughout 2014 will be last year’s title runner-up, Thierry Neuville. The second car will be shared by Dani Sordo, Juho Hanninen and Chris Atkinson.

Social media

Tour de Corse