Rally GB celebrates Welsh stars

World champion co-drivers Phil Mills and David Richards are among a group of Welsh rally stars who will be honoured during Dayinsure Wales Rally GB (26 - 29 October).

Event winners Nicky Grist and Neil Wilson and a quartet of British champions will join the duo at the penultimate round of the WRC season.

They will meet fans at Friday evening’s autograph session in Chester and the following day’s fan favourite Cholmondeley Castle speed test. Several will also attend Thursday evening’s opening test at Tir Prince Raceway and the Sweet Lamb special stage on Friday.

Mills partnered Petter Solberg to the 2003 title and scored four consecutive Rally GB victories between 2002 and 2005.

Richards took the 1981 crown alongside Ari Vatanen. He went on to found the Prodrive team which won three straight manufacturers’ titles with Subaru between 1995 and 1997, and guided Colin McRae and Richard Burns to the drivers’ crown as well as Solberg.

Grist is Wales’ most successful WRC performer. He won 21 world rallies with Juha Kankkunen and McRae, including British triumphs in 1993 and 1997. Wilson was victorious in 1985 alongside the late Henri Toivonen in Lancia’s fearsome Delta S4.

British champion drivers Gwyndaf Evans and David Llewellin, co-drivers Howard Davies and Phil Pugh and fan favourite Phil Collins complete the group.


More News