Suninen wins GB warm-up

Teemu Suninen was fastest during a busy shakedown at Dayinsure Wales Rally GB on Thursday morning.

The Finn, at the wheel of a Ford Fiesta, was quickest through the slippery 3.37km Clocaenog speed test by 0.2sec from a trio of drivers tied in second.

Team-mates Sébastien Ogier and 2017 rally winner Elfyn Evans and Jari-Matti Latvala all stopped the clocks on the same tenth.

It was a less successful morning for man-of-the-moment Ott Tänak. The Estonian, winner of the last three rounds, had an early scare when his Toyota Yaris slid straight on under braking for a right corner and hit a bank during his first run (see video below).

He drove to the finish but returned to the Deeside service park where the cooling package was replaced after a small leak was spotted. He went back out and completed three more runs to finish last of the 11 World Rally Car drivers.

The muddy gravel roads quickly became polished and even more slippery as the morning went on and most drivers posted their fastest time on their first or second pass.

The exception was Ogier who posted his best time in his fifth run in a Fiesta. Evans and Latvala, driving a Yaris, claimed their best performance in their opening pass while Suninen’s quickest time came in his second run.

Craig Breen was fifth in a Citroën C3, just 0.1sec behind, with championship leader Thierry Neuville topping Hyundai Motorsport’s challenge in sixth, 0.4sec behind in an i20.

The leading positions were:

Head to WRC+ to watch All Live from Dayinsure Wales Rally GB, including every stage broadcast live, breaking service park news and expert studio analysis.

1.Teemu SuninenFord Fiesta2min 01.2sec
2=Jari-Matti LatvalaToyota Yaris+ 0.2sec
2=Elfyn EvansFord Fiesta+ 0.2sec
2=Sébastien OgierFord Fiesta+ 0.2sec
5.Craig BreenCitroën C3+ 0.3sec
6.Thierry NeuvilleHyundai i20+ 0.6sec
7.Mads ØstbergCitroën C3+ 0.7sec
8.Esapekka LappiToyota Yaris+ 1.0sec
9.Hayden PaddonHyundai i20+ 1.4sec
10.Andreas MikkelsenHyundai i20+ 1.9sec

More News