Certina Timing Feat Award

Tenths of a second frequently make the difference between winning and losing and as we begin our second week of voting for the big WRC Gala Night and awards in Sydney, today’s category is about split-second timing.

We’ve selected four great highlights from the 2017 season in which the stopwatch played a crucial factor and put them into a video compilation below. Now we want you to pick your favourite and vote for the Certina Timing Feat Award.

The nominees are:

Thierry Neuville – the Belgian trailed Elfyn Evans by 0.6sec ahead of the final El Condor Power Stage in Argentina. He hurled his Hyundai i20 down the mountain to claim a dramatic victory by 0.7sec – the third closest in WRC history.

Jan Kopecký – Ott Tänak’s win in Thursday night’s Saarbrücken test at ADAC Rallye Deutschland seemed assured. That was until Jan Kopecký threaded his WRC 2-specification Skoda Fabia R5 through the streets 0.3sec quicker to lead the rally overnight.

Teemu Suninen – the youngster was eager to make an impression at his home rally in Finland in only his second World Rally Car drive. He didn’t disappoint, blasting his Ford Fiesta to two stage wins on Friday to hold third place.

Dani Sordo – four of this season’s thrilling rally-closing Power Stages have been decided by less than a second. Sordo’s victory, and maximum bonus points, in Germany was the closest when the Spaniard edged Esapekka Lappi by 0.2sec.

Win a 700 euro Certina chronograph watch

The winner will be announced during the star-studded gala, which follows the final round at Kennards Hire Rally Australia (16 - 19 November).

More than 250 guests, including drivers, co-drivers, team bosses, senior officials, city personalities and government representatives will celebrate at Sydney’s Museum of Contemporary Art, across the water from the famous Opera House, on Monday 20 November.

While casting your vote, you will also be entered into our fantastic competition to win a superb Certina DS-2 Chronograph watch, worth 700 euros.

The sports design, coloured elements and elegant contours of these innovative chronographs make them ideal adornments to the wrist, enhanced by the fascinating 1/100th second display.

Three more categories will be decided by fan votes here on wrc.com. If you are having problems with the voting form on mobile devices, please use this direct link: https://goo.gl/EMXdaH

Tomorrow: OneBet Jump of the Year


1. All Certina competition entries must be received by 23.59hrs CET on Wednesday 13 November 2017. 
2. No more than one entry per person per voting category.
3. Entries will be entered into a draw that will take place on Thursday 14 November 2017.
4. The winners will be notified by email following this date.
5. Entry excludes employees of WRC Promoter GmbH, members of their families, their agents and anyone connected with the competition.
6. The prize is non-transferable and must be accepted as offered.
7. There are no cash alternatives or cash substitutes for the prize.
8. Any personal data collected as part of this competition will be used only for notifying the winner and delivering the prize.
9. By entering the competition, all participants will be deemed to have accepted and be bound by these terms and conditions.

More News