In Pictures: WRC Gala Night Awards

After three days of mud, sweat and tears at Kennards Hire Rally Australia, WRC crews swapped their race suits for tuxedos at the glamorous end-of-season WRC Gala Night in Sydney.

The star-studded event was attended by almost 250 guests, including drivers and co-drivers, team bosses and championship officials.

They were all there to congratulate the winners of this season’s championship awards, that were presented at the Sydney Museum of Contemporary Art, just across the water from the city’s iconic Opera House.

Here are some of our favourite shots from the event:

The 2018 WRC Gala Night winners

Ott Tänak receives the Driver of the Year Award from Jona Siebel [left] and Oliver Ciesla, Joint Managing Directors of WRC Promoter

Drivers, co-drivers and staff from Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team

Winner of the OneBet Jump of the Year Award, Thierry Neuville, with Angus Kennard – CEO of Rally Australia title sponsor Kennards Hire

Andreas Mikkelsen was one of the star drivers at the Sydney celebration

Winner of the DJI Quote of the Year Award, Jari-Matti Latvala, with DJI marketing manager EMEA Janneke Rozendaal

Staff, drivers and co-drivers from M-Sport Ford World Rally Team

Elfyn Evans accepts the Asahi Kasei Spirit of the Season Award from Asahi Kasei Primary Executive Officer Hiroshi Yoshida Social Media Star of the Year Award winner Craig Breen with New South Wales Minister for Tourism and Major Events Adam Marshall MP

Julien Ingrassia accepts the Power Stage Points Award from Andrew Papadopoulos, the President of the Confederation of Australian Motorsport


More News