Ogier seals Mexico win

Sébastien Ogier claimed his fifth Rally Guanajuato Mexico victory on Sunday afternoon to climb to second in the FIA World Rally Championship.

The Frenchman, driving a Citroën C3, was never headed after taking the lead on Friday afternoon and won the season’s third round by 30.2sec

Ott Tänak outgunned Elfyn Evans in a final day fight through dusty mountain roads near León to secure second and retain the series lead. The Estonian, driving a Toyota Yaris, finished 19.7sec clear of the Welshman’s Ford Fiesta.

Ogier won a thrilling live TV Wolf Power Stage by 0.025sec from Kris Meeke’s Yaris to claim five bonus points. Meeke took four with Thierry Neuville, driving a Hyundai i20, scoring three in third. Dani Sordo, in another i20, and Esapekka Lappi, driving a C3, took two and one point respectively.

More news to follow

Head to WRC+ to watch All Live from Rally Guanajuato Mexico, including every stage broadcast live, breaking service park news and expert studio analysis.

More News