This is the WRC’s primary support category and the principal feeder for ambitious competitors targeting the final step to a World Rally Car drive.

It has undergone exciting changes for 2019 with a split into two separate championships.

WRC 2 Pro is aimed at manufacturer-supported entries, with manufacturers able to field one team of up to two crews per event. World titles will be awarded to both the leading manufacturer and the top driver.

Manufacturers must contest a minimum of seven rallies, including one outside Europe. They can count scores from every round, while drivers count their best eight results.

WRC 2 is aimed at independent drivers, those who buy or hire a car from a manufacturer and operate their own team. Their best six scores count towards a drivers’ title.

Both championships are open to R5-specification four-wheel drive cars in the RC2 class of technical regulations. They are less modified than the World Rally Cars and power and performance are balanced through turbocharger air restrictors, minimum weight stipulations and price caps.

Look out for: Citroën C3, Ford Fiesta, Hyundai i20, Skoda Fabia, Volkswagen Polo GTI.

Getting technical 

  • Technical Class RC2 
  • Referred to as R5 cars
  • At least 2500 examples of these road cars must have been manufactured in the previous 12 months
  • 1.6-litre, fuel injection, turbocharged, four cylinder engines fitted with a 32mm air intake restrictor
  • Power output about 285bhp
  • Cylinder block and head based on those in the standard road car
  • Modifications allowed to crankshafts, con rods, pistons, cylinder linings, valves and camshafts
  • Permanent four-wheel drive, five-speed sequential gearbox with paddle-shift on steering
  • Mechanical front and rear differentials
  • 7 x 15inch wheels for gravel, 8 x 18inch wheels for asphalt
  • 300mm diameter brakes for gravel, 355mm for asphalt
  • Weight: 1230kg minimum. 1390kg with driver and co-driver

Live Stream

Rallye Monte-Carlo