The principal category in the WRC and driven by the sport’s superstars such as Sébastien Ogier, Thierry Neuville and Jari-Matti Latvala.

Look out for - Ford Fiesta WRC, Citroën C3, Hyundai i20 Coupe, Toyota Yaris WRC

Getting technical –

  • Technical Class RC1 
  • Referred to as ‘World Rally Cars’
  • 1.6-litre, fuel injection, turbocharged, four cylinder engines fitted with a 36mm air intake restrictor
  • Power output restricted to about 380bhp
  • Cylinder block and head based on those in the standard road car.
  • Modifications allowed to crankshafts, con rods, pistons, cylinder linings, valves and camshafts.
  • Permanent four-wheel drive, six-speed sequential gearbox with paddle-shift on steering
  • Mechanical front and rear differentials. Active centre differential
  • 7 x 15inch wheels for gravel, 8 x 18inch wheels for asphalt
  • 300mm diameter brakes for gravel, 370mm for asphalt
  • Weight: 1,190kg minimum. 1,350kg with driver and co-driver
  • 0-100kph in less than 4sec.
  • Top speed exceeding 200kph.

Rallye Monte-Carlo