Monday | 13 Apr 2020

Round of 16 - Grönholm v Waldegård. Vote now!

Voting in the round of 16 of the WRC Greatest Driver, presented by Pirelli, resumes today with Marcus Grönholm taking on Björn Waldegård.

Voting continues today with a battle of the Nordic nations as Marcus Grönholm talks on Björn Waldegård in the fourth clash of the Round of 16.

Voting is open for 24 hours, closing at 10:00 CET on Tuesday 14 April. The Round of 16 results will be revealed on Saturday 18 April, at the completion of the round.

Marcus Grönholm
Nationality: Finnish
Manufacturers: Toyota, SEAT, Mitsubishi, Peugeot, Ford
WRC starts: 153
WRC titles: 2
WRC wins: 30
WRC podiums: 61

Marcus Grönholm blossomed late as a driver, and was 32 when he won his first WRC rally. The larger-than-life Finn quickly made up for lost time and clocked up an impressive 30 victories with Peugeot and Ford. He lifted two world titles and won his home event in Finland seven times, a record he shares with Hannu Mikkola.

Björn Waldegard
Nationality: Swedish
Manufacturers: Fiat, Volkswagen, Porsche, BMW, Toyota, Opel, Lancia, Ford, Mercedes-Benz, Ferrari
WRC starts: 95
WRC titles: 1
WRC wins: 16
WRC podiums: 34

The first official World Rally Champion was Sweden's Björn Waldegård in 1979. A gentle giant of a man, he was by nature reserved and unflappable. He could calmly adapt to any kind of car, in any conditions. This led to him winning a total of 16 World Rally Championship events, although before the series began he had scored major victories at the Monte Carlo Rally in 1969 and 1970. He is also became the oldest man to win a WRC event when he won the Safari in 1990 at the age of 46.

Power Stage Classic - Rally Spain 2015

Power Stage Classic - Rally Spain ...

This Sunday’s Power Stage classic travels to Salou, Spain in 2015, to witness a particularly memorable weekend for Andreas ...

Read More