Tuesday | 07 Apr 2020

Votes pour in for Greatest WRC Driver qualifiers

Wow! We had a massive response from fans during the first day of voting in our search to identify The Greatest WRC Driver, presented by Pirelli.

Tens of thousands of you flocked to wrc.com to have your say in our opening qualifying round head-to-head contests, along with our panel of six journalist experts who also cast their votes.

Polling closed on Tuesday (7 April) morning and the votes counted - and we can reveal the four winners who will join the top 12 seeds in the first round.



In this Sunday’s classic Power Stage, WRC+ is travelling back to July 2016 – a time when future world champion Ott Tänak was ...

Read More

Britain’s Richard Burns, the 2001 world champion, ousted Finland’s 1985 title winner Timo Salonen to seal his place in the last 16. Burns now faces the daunting task of taking on top seed Sébastien Loeb.

Petter Solberg was a comfortable winner over Jari-Matti Latvala and the Norwegian meets four-time champion Juha Kankkunen.

Reigning world champion Ott Tänak saw off Markku Alén, one of just two drivers in the contest not to have won a world title, in a close battle. He goes forward to meet his former boss at Toyota Gazoo Racing, Tommi Mäkinen, in a highly-anticipated contest.

The closest qualifying round duel featured Ari Vatanen and Stig Blomqvist. Blomqvist just edged through and his reward is a first round tie against Sébastien Ogier.

WRC 8 Weekly Challenge: Antisanti

WRC 8 Weekly Challenge: Antisanti

In addition to Round 4 of the eSports WRC Championship, prepare yourself for this week's WRC 8 Challenge, as we travel to the ...

Read More

The full first round draw is: Sébastien Loeb v Richard Burns; Walter Röhrl v Colin McRae; Marcus Grönholm v Björn Waldegård; Juha Kankkunen v Petter Solberg; Tommi Mäkinen v Ott Tänak; Carlos Sainz v Hannu Mikkola; Miki Biasion v Didier Auriol; Sébastien Ogier v Stig Blomqvist.

The opening duel goes live here on wrc.com at 10.00 CET on Wednesday (8 April) with the vote staying open for 24 hours.

Daily voting on weekdays will continue until the eight first round face-offs are completed, after which the results for all eight contests will be revealed, along with the quarter final draw.