Wednesday | 29 Apr 2020

It's Loeb v Sainz in the final!

Nine-time world champion Sébastien Loeb will face off against double title holder Carlos Sainz in a mouth-watering head-to-head final to decide who will be crowned The Greatest WRC Driver of all time.

Spaniard Sainz delivered a knockout blow to six-time champion Sébastien Ogier in a remarkable second semi-final of our contest, presented by Pirelli.

El Matador trailed his rival in the voting from our six expert journalists but his huge popularity among WRC fans turned the poll around. In a manner typical of his WRC driving, the sixth seed, who ousted Tommi Mäkinen in the quarter-finals, fought his way into a slender lead.

Sainz fended off second seed Ogier through the final hours of the vote to edge into the final with 50.6 per cent of the poll against the Frenchman’s 49.4 per cent after the closest battle of the entire competition.

The Greatest WRC Drivers: Sébastien Loeb

Both semi-finals generated a massive turnout of voters, but Loeb’s progression was far simpler. The top seed saw off Finland’s Juha Kankkunen after gaining more than 88 per cent of the vote.   

So who will it be? The term legend is frequently over-used, but both can genuinely lay claim to that label. The pair were team-mates at Citroën in 2003, 2004 and 2005 and number 375 WRC starts between them. But which is The Greatest?

The Greatest WRC Drivers: Carlos Sainz

Voting for the final will open here on at 10.00 CET on Thursday (30 April), with the poll staying open until 10.00 CET on Monday (4 May) – extra time for you to encourage your family, friends and colleagues to have their say!

We’ll reveal the results and confirm who has been crowned The Greatest WRC Driver later in the day on Monday.

Get voting!