Tuesday | 11 Aug 2020

New driver crowned MVP, Grand final line-up confirmed

When the eSports WRC Championship, presented by Toyota Gazoo Racing, came to a conclusion on Sunday evening (9 August), it was a new driver holding aloft the MVP (most valuable player) trophy.

Going into the weekend's (06-09 August) 11th and final round of the season, on the roads of Finland, the MVP race was effectively down to two drivers: Sami-Joe and Nexl. The reigning eSports WRC champion Nexl did everything he could to secure the title, recording his fourth victory of the season for a maximum 25 points. 

This meant, that after removing his worst result of the season, the Frenchman was left with 199 points, requiring Sami-Joe to finish second to secure the title outright. However, the young Lebanese driver, could only muster up a third-placed finish, leaving him tied with Nexl on 199 points.

With the drivers having recorded an equal number of victories and podium finishes, the next factor was who had the most points overall, prior to their worst round being removed. This left Sami-Joe celebrating victory by two points.

Meanwhile, further down the table another intriguing battle unfolding. The top eight drivers at the completion of the eSports WRC Championship earn a spot in the eSports WRC Grand Final and the chance to win a Toyota GR Yaris.

Two tickets remained up for grabs, with seven drivers left vying for them. In the end, it was Botti Jr and Komatsu prevailing, with jhtl85 the unlucky loser, missing out once his worst event had been removed. It was a disappointing weekend for the Finn, who also missed out on qualifying via the Neste Rally Finland eChallenge. Instead, it was Mihalo claiming the wildcard.

eSports WRC Grand Finalists

1. Sami-Joe
2. Nexl
3. izamusing
4. Noel
5. Jonno
6. Subee203
7. Botti Jr
8. Komatsu
9. Greekman*
10. Mihalo**

*Winner of a wildcard via the Monte-Carlo eSports Launch
**Winner of a wildcard via the Neste Rally Finland eChallenge

WRC drivers push eSports specialists in thrilling eChallenge

WRC drivers push eSports ...

Mika “Mihalo” Laitenen will be competing in the 2020 eSports WRC Grand Final, earning a wildcard following tense scenes at ...

Read more

Despite missing out on MVP honours, there was still reason for Nexl to smile, with his team Race Clutch winning the Teams' Championship. He will be joined by team mates Noel and Jonno in the Grand Final.

Led by Sami-Joe, WRC eDrivers finished second. They will also be represented in the Grand Final by Subee203 and Komatsu.

More eSports WRC