Monday | 09 Feb 2015

WRC firms up Asia and Europe TV deals

Motorsport fans in Asia and Europe can enjoy the excitement of the FIA World Rally Championship during 2015 after the completion of a series of high-profile television agreements.

The championship will return to terrestrial TV screens in China for the first time in recent years, while fans across the Indian sub-continent will be able to follow the WRC via both live and highlights programmes. New free-to-air deals have been agreed in South Korea, France and Norway.

The newly-announced agreements are as follows:

China Central Television
CCTV is China’s free-to-air state broadcaster which is accessible to more than one billion viewers. In addition, a prolonged agreement with PPTV, a free-to-air internet channel, has been concluded.

NEO Sports
Premier pay channel NEO Sports broadcasts in countries across the Indian sub-continent including India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal.

SBS Sport
SBS Sport in South Korea is the free-to-air sports channel of national commercial broadcaster SBS. SBS Sport joins existing partners in the region which include J Sports in Japan, Truevision in Thailand and Astro in Malaysia.

L’Equipe 21
L’Equipe 21 is a free-to-air broadcaster in France, the home country of world champion Sébastien Ogier.

TV2 Norway
TV2, the largest commercial TV station in Norway, will join the WRC’s existing partners in Scandinavia including SVT in Sweden and Nelonen/YLE in Finland.

More News