Thursday | 03 Jul 2014

Wilson honoured by motorsport industry

M-Sport boss Malcolm Wilson’s contribution to motorsport over almost 40 years has been recognised by industry leaders in London.

Finland's Mikko Hirvonen drives for Malcolm Wilson's M-Sport team

He received an award for his outstanding contribution to the industry from the Motorsport Industry Association (MIA), the world’s leading trade association for the sport and high-performance engineering.

Wilson drove for three factory teams in the FIA World Rally Championship and won the British Championship in 1994. He later founded M-Sport and in partnership with Ford the duo claimed the manufacturers’ world title in 2006 and 2007.

M-Sport has built more than 1,000 Ford rally cars from its base in north-west England since 1999 and Mikko Hirvonen, Elfyn Evans and Robert Kubica currently drive its Fiesta RS WRCs in the world championship.

Wilson joins an elite group of previous MIA award winners including Ron Dennis, John Surtees, Stirling Moss, David Richards and Bernie Ecclestone.

“This is one of the biggest shocks I’ve had in my motorsport career. I really, genuinely, didn’t expect to win this award. In order to succeed in any walk of life, you need a great team around you and I am very proud to have worked with some incredibly talented people throughout my career,” he said.

Wilson (pictured second right) received the award from British Government minister Vince Cable during the MIA’s annual reception for parliamentary and motorsport industry leaders.