Monday | 21 Nov 2016

Volkswagen's four years in numbers

From first appearance at Rallye Monte-Carlo in 2013, to abrupt finale at Kennards Hire Rally Australia, Volkswagen's all-conquering WRC programme has racked up some incredible stats.

Here, to mark the end of an era, is a selection of our favourites:

WRC rally wins
Victory in Australia was the 43rd for Volkswagen's Polo R. From 52 rallies, that's a winning ratio of 82.69 per cent. Volkswagen  finished one-two 20 times and one-two-three four times.

Stage wins
Volkswagen won 640 of the 958 special stages it started with the Polo R. Volkswagen drivers finished inside the top three 1,570 times and finished one-two-three 109 times.

Volkswagen claimed 87 podium results from its 52 WRC rallies - 43 of these have been victories, 26 second places and 18 third places.

Power Stage
Of the 51 Power Stages run, 39 have been won by Volkswagen drivers. They also bagged 27 second places, 26 third places and four 1-2-3s.

Individual entries
152: that is the total number of VW WRC entries of the three drivers Ogier, Latvala and Mikkelsen.

Championship points
Volkswagen have topped the Drivers’ and Co-Drivers’ Championship for an uninterrupted 986 days with Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and the Manufacturers’ standings for 1,346 days in a row.

Winning runs
Volkswagen holds the record for the longest winning run in the WRC. It won 12 rallies in a row on two occasions: from the 2013 Rally Australia to the 2014 Rally Finland, and from Rally Portugal in 2015 to Rally Mexico in 2016.

From beginning to end
200 weeks, 3 days, 18 hours, 40 minutes and 41 seconds. That's the length of VW's WRC reign - from the moment Jari-Matti Latvala started the 2013 Rally Monte Carlo to when Andreas Mikkelsen crossed the finish line in Australia.


More News