Thursday | 21 Nov 2019

Result: Asahi Kasei Team of the Year

Toyota Gazoo Racing’s sensational clean sweep of the podium places at August’s ADAC Rallye Deutschland earned the Japanese manufacturer the Asahi Kasei Team of the Year accolade in our prestigious end-of-season awards.

World champion Ott Tänak headed a stunning 1-2-3 for Tommi Mäkinen’s squad in his Yaris World Rally Car on Germany’s asphalt. Kris Meeke claimed second and Jari-Matti Latvala completed Toyota’s delight in third.

It marked Toyota’s first podium lockout since 1993 and the first in the WRC since Germany in 2015.

Sporting director Kaj Lindström accepted the trophy on behalf of the Toyota team in Coffs Harbour, Australia, and thanked fans on who voted his team into top spot.

Other nominations on the shortlist were Citroën Racing’s 1-2 finish in Turkey, M-Sport Ford’s on-event rebuild of Teemu Suninen’s damaged roll cage in Sweden and Citroën’s emergency trans-Atlantic airfreight of a new C3 shell after Esapekka Lappi’s Argentina crash.

Tomorrow: ANONIMO Timing Feat


More News