Tuesday | 09 May 2017

Record WRC entry for Portugal

The upcoming Vodafone Rally de Portugal [18 – 21 May] promises to be a treat for spectators, with a star-studded 65-strong entry that includes 14 new-spec World Rally Cars - more than any other round of the season so far.

This year's 50th anniversary running of the gravel-surface WRC classic boasts an impressive list of entries across four FIA Championship categories - with two WRC manufacturers represented at full strength for the first time.

In its most ambitious entry since returning to the WRC, Toyota will be competing with three Yaris WRCs, as rising star Esapekka Lappi joins Juho Hänninen and Jari-Matti Latvala, winner of Rally Sweden.

Citroën will enter four C3 WRCs instead of the usual three, for Mexico winner Kris Meeke, Craig Breen, Stéphane Lefebvre and Khalid Al Qassimi.

M-Sport will also enter four cars. Defending world champion Sébastien Ogier, winner of the first round of the year, will be joined by Ott Tänak, Elfyn Evans and Mads Østberg.

Finally, Hyundai will be entering its usual line up of Thierry Neuville (winner in France and Argentina), Hayden Paddon and Dani Sordo.

Also competing in pre-2017 WRC cars are WRC Trophy contenders Martin Prokop (Ford), Valeriy Gorban (Mini) and Jean-Michel Raoux (Citroën) making a total of 17 WRC cars on the list.

Portugal is the first mandatory event in WRC 2 and 20 registered drivers will be in action. Skoda Fabia R5 drivers Andreas Mikkelsen and Pontus Tidemand head the support category entry list, which also features Eric Camilli and Teemu Suninen in M-Sport Ford Fiesta R5s. Last year's Junior WRC winner Simone Tempestini and 2015 Junior title winner Quentin Gilbert will also compete.

The rally also features six entries in the two-wheel-drive WRC 3 championship.

Follow this link to see the complete entry list.


More News