Saturday | 17 May 2014

Ogier tops the Power Stage chart

Sebastien Ogier’s fastest time at the Rally Argentina Power Stage has cemented his position as the championship’s Power Stage king – with double the number of stage wins of his closest rival.

Argentina was Ogier’s third consecutive Power Stage win this season and his 14th to date. His nearest rival, Sebastien Loeb, has won a total of seven.

Introduced at Rally Sweden 2011, the Power Stage offers bonus championship points to the three fastest drivers on a three, two, one basis. Forty-three Power Stages have been run since, with just one cancellation, at Rallye Monte Carlo 2013, due to bad weather.

As well as his outright win rate, Ogier has also amassed the most bonus points, with a total of 56 so far courtesy of five second places and four thirds.

Ogier’s Volkswagen team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala has bagged a total of 48 Power Stage points and has finished in the points winning places more often than any other driver. 

Here are the stats so far, up to and including the Power Stage from Rally Argentina:

Power Stage chart

S. Ogier145456
J-M. Latvala5111148
S. Loeb75738
M. Hirvonen56532
P. Solberg43321
T. Neuville34118
D. Sordo25016
M. Ostberg12512
E. Novikov0226
K. Meeke1014
O. Tanak1014
A. Mikkelsen0022
N. Al Attiyah0011