Sunday | 07 Dec 2014

Ogier receives WRC trophy

Sébastien Ogier and co-driver Julien Ingrassia were officially crowned world rally champions for the second time at the FIA’s prize-giving gala in Doha on Friday night (5 December).

The Volkswagen pair defended the titles they claimed in 2013, while the German company also received the manufacturers’ trophy after wrapping up the championship at the earliest point in the season for 25 years.

Ingrassia was unable to attend the Qatar event as the Frenchman is recovering from an operation.

“It was a fantastic feeling to win the title again, and it is an honour to stand on stage with some of the greats of our sport,” said Ogier.

“Above all, however, I am delighted that Julien and I were able to back up last year’s title win. It is amazing to fulfil your dream of becoming world champion. But it is even better to successfully defend the title,” he added.

More News