Tuesday | 18 Feb 2014

No surprises in Mexico entry

Twelve World Rally Cars have been entered for next month’s Rally Mexico.

The publication of the entry list confirms that Chris Atkinson will make his debut in Hyundai’s i20 as team-mate to lead driver Thierry Neuville.

The only non-nominated World Rally Car driver in the list is Mexico’s Benito Guerra, who will drive a Ford Fiesta RS as part of the three-car M-Sport World Rally Team squad.

Nine drivers have entered the WRC 2 support category, including several making their first appearance of the season.

Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari, who finished runner-up to Robert Kubica in the 2013 title race, lines up in a Fiesta RRC for his 2014 debut while Peru’s Nicolas Fuchs, who won the Production Cup last season, steps up to a Fiesta RRC.

Yuriy Protasov - WRC 2 winner at Rallye Monte-Carlo

Also making their WRC 2 debuts are Ott Tanak, fresh from his superb fifth overall at Rally Sweden in a Fiesta RS World Rally Car, and Rallye Monte-Carlo WRC 3 winner Quentin Gilbert. Both will drive Fiesta R5 cars.

Paraguay’s Augusto Bestard makes his first appearance in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X. The WRC 2 field is headed by Monte-Carlo winner Yuriy Protasov.

The third round of the WRC, and the first gravel round of the year, is based in Leon from 6 - 9 March.