Thursday | 31 Mar 2016

National champ joins WRC elite in Argentina

Reigning Argentine rally champion Marcos Ligato will take on the WRC regulars in the top class of competition at Rally Argentina next month (21-24 April).

Ligato, 38, and his co-driver Ruben Garcia will drive a DS3 World Rally Car run by the Citroën-supported PH Sport team. Last year British driver Kris Meeke (above) won the rally outright in a similar car.

A veteran of his home round of the WRC, Ligato first tacked it in 1998, at the start of a career that has included multiple seasons in the World Championship for Production Cars (PWRC) as well as regular appearances in his domestic championship.

Highlights have included second place in the 2012 PWRC, as runner-up to Benito Guerra, and national titles in 2004 with a Subaru Impreza STi and in 2014-15 with a Chevrolet Agile MR.

"It will be a very important both for me and Ruben as we are in a good time professionally, plus the car is the ultimate winner in this race and has always adapted well to the Cordoba roads. We are very excited," said Ligato.

The draft entry list for Rally Argentina features 13 World Rally Car crews, including the registered teams from Volkswagen, Hyundai, M-Sport and DMACK. Other notable entries include Lorenzo Bertelli (Ford Fiesta RS) Valeriy Gorban (Mini Countryman WRC) and Argentine driver José Alberto Nicolas who will pilot a DS3 WRC.

The list also features eight drivers in the WRC 2 support championship including the leader Elfyn Evans. Michel Fabre is the sole entry in WRC 3.

Click here to see the full draft entry list.

More News