Monday | 10 Dec 2018

In pictures: FIA Prize Giving

The most successful crews and team in this year's World Rally Championship were honoured during a glittering FIA Prize Giving ceremony in Saint Petersburg on Friday night.

The stars of the WRC joined prize winners from other FIA championships – including Formula One – at the Russian city's Philharmonic Hall for the traditional end of season celebration.

Sébastien Ogier and co-driver Julian Ingrassia picked up their driver and co-driver trophies – for the sixth consecutive year – while Tommi Mäkinen gratefully accepted the manufacturer trophy on behalf of Toyota Gazoo Racing.

Ogier took three wins from the first four rounds, but a difficult mid-season spell allowed Thierry Neuville to gain the upper hand. Victory at Wales Rally GB and second place at the penultimate round in Spain, gave the Frenchman a narrow lead, and fifth place in Australia was enough to take the title.

“It was an intense season," Ogier acknowledged. "The suspense was there right to the last moment of the season and to come out as the winner again was a great feeling. I think Rally Wales GB was the turning point.

"There were three rallies to go and we were 23 points behind the leaders. We needed a strong result and winning Rally GB was really important, for the points, but also mentally. I believe that from this moment on the pressure was on their shoulders.”

Also taking to the FIA stage were Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul who both collected their runner-up silverware, while Ott Tänak and co-driver Martin Järveoja received their prizes for finishing third.


More News