Friday | 01 May 2015

Cave heads Trophy contenders

Britain’s Tom Cave, runner-up in the 2014 Drive DMACK Fiesta Trophy, heads the entries for the 2015 series which begins at Vodafone Rally de Portugal (21 - 24 May).

Five more drivers from 2014 will return to contest the trophy, which will run across six points-scoring rounds on five WRC events – Marius Aasen, rookie champion Max Vatanen, Ghislain de Mevius, Nicolas Amiouni and final round winner Nil Solans.

The Portugal entry features 11 drivers from nine countries, all piloting the newly-developed Ford Fiesta R2, powered by a 1.0-litre turbocharged EcoBoost engine.

American Will Hudson, guided by Ken Block’s co-driver, Alex Gelsomino, Edoardo Bresolin and British junior champion Gus Greensmith join the returning drivers with Dutch duo Kevin van Deijne and Mats van den Brand completing the line-up.

“The series provided me with fantastic experience last year and I aim to build on that to come back even stronger,” said Cave. “I’m really excited with the prospect of driving the new Fiesta and we’ve been preparing hard for the first round in Portugal.”

The series winner will earn a full season in WRC 2 in 2016 in a Fiesta R5.

More News