Thursday | 26 Nov 2015

2016 Drive DMACK Fiesta Trophy unveiled

Registration has opened for the Drive DMACK Fiesta Trophy which will return in 2016 for a third season within the World Rally Championship.

Backed by tyre manufacturer DMACK and rally preparation firm M-Sport, the series will follow a similar format to 2015, with crews competing in identical 1.0 turbo EcoBoost Ford Fiesta R2 cars on five WRC rounds. On offer for the winner is a full seven-round season in WRC 2 in 2017.

Gravel rounds in Portugal, Poland and Finland will be followed by asphalt in Germany before a mixed-surface double-header finale in Spain, where two lots of points will be up for grabs. The best five scores from six rounds will count towards the title and points will also be awarded for stage victories on all events.

Dick Cormack, DMACK managing director, said: “The format of the Trophy has proven both competitive and popular, and it remains the most affordable way to compete in the WRC. DMACK has always focused on stimulating cost-effective competition by providing an affordable range of performance motorsport tyres and this is just one strand of our strategy to become more involved with helping drivers step from national championships to the WRC.”

Norwegians Marius Aasen and Veronica Engan were victorious this season

As well as the main prize, rookie competitors and selected privateers who compete on individual events alongside the main Trophy, will be eligible for 'the Vatanen Touch' - named after 1981 champion Ari Vatanen, whose son Max finished third in this year's competition. A 50 per cent scholarship to the 2017 Trophy will be awarded to the winner at an end of season driver assessment.

Prospective competitors can find more information at The initial selection of competitors will take place on 26 February 2016 but applications will continue to be accepted until the entry deadline for the first round.

More News