Monday | 22 Dec 2014

2014 Highlights: VW’s record-breaking season

At number four in our countdown of 2014 season highlights are the winning achievements of the all-conquering Volkswagen squad.

In only its second season, the German manufacturer had another record-breaker, with its crews Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia, Jari-Matti-Latvala/Miikka Anttila and Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene steering Polo R World Rally Cars to success after success.

Top of the pile were the three FIA World Championship titles in the drivers’, Co-Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ competitions. But these were only part of the story.

When title-winner Ogier won Wales Rally GB he presented VW with its 12th victory from 13 rallies – a new record for the number of wins in one season that eclipsed the previous record of 11 held by Citroën. VW also equalled the record eight one-twos in a season, set by Peugeot back in 2002.

Volkswagen wrapped up the Manufacturers’ title at the earliest point of the season for 25 years, as well as becoming only the second manufacturer in WRC history to provide all of the top three drivers in the Drivers’ World Championship. Only Lancia had achieved this feat before them – in 1987 and 1988.

The season added more impressive statistics to the winning record of the Polo World Rally Car. Since its WRC debut in January 2013, the car has racked up 22 victories and 41 podiums in 26 rallies. This year it powered Ogier, Latvala and Mikkelsen to 197 stage wins from a possible 249.

Want to see how these successes look compressed into 2min 52sec? Then check out our WRC season review below.

Video: 2014 season highlights

More News