Thursday | 04 Feb 2016

Trophy champions join forces in DMACK line-up

Title winners from the 2014 and 2015 Drive DMACK Fiesta Trophy will link up at next week’s Rally Sweden (11 - 14 February) to begin WRC 2 campaigns with the new Drive DMACK Trophy Team.

Last year’s champion Marius Aasen and co-driver Veronica Engan (pictured) will begin their 2016 prize drive on home ground, with the majority of Friday’s opening leg in their native Norway.

They will be joined by 2014 winners Sander Pärn and co-driver James Morgan, who aim to bring a fresh and more experienced approach after a difficult time in their prize drive campaign last year.

Both will drive Ford Fiesta R5 cars, and Estonian Pärn prepared by finishing fifth in the Arctic Lapland Rally in Finland last weekend.

“It was a big learning curve but also very beneficial ahead of Sweden,” said Pärn. “Last year didn’t really go to plan for us so we took the decision to focus on 2016. It’s great to be able to start again with a full programme and we are approaching it with much more experience this year and more seat time in the Fiesta R5.”

Aasen is enthusiastic about stepping up to an R5 car after winning the Trophy in a Fiesta R2.

“I’ve driven the R5 in the UK last year, have just shaken it down at M-Sport this week and we’re testing on Monday, and the car feels really good. It’s a big step up from the R2 but I felt pretty comfortable with it quite quickly.

“I’m happy we’re starting our season in Sweden. I’m familiar with this surface and remember some stages from the last time I competed in 2012,” he said.

More News