Thursday | 29 Dec 2016

M-Sport and DMACK power 2017 Junior WRC

After three seasons as a Citroën-based competition, next year's Junior World Rally Championship will be Ford-powered, with drivers at the wheel of R2-spec Fiestas shod with DMACK tyres.

First held in 2001, when it was known as the Super 1600 Drivers' Championship, the FIA category for up-and-coming talent has launched the careers of many top-level drivers. Sébastien Loeb, Sébastien Ogier, Craig Breen, Dani Sordo and Stéphane Lefebvre are all former Champions.

Open to drivers born after 1 January 1988, the 2017 championship will follow an arrive-and-drive format and competitors will drive identical one-litre Ford Fiesta R2s built and maintained by M-Sport in Poland.

The Junior WRC will be contested over six WRC rounds, – starting in Corsica, then Italy, Poland, Finland and Germany before finishing in Spain. Points will be awarded to the top-ten finishers according to the usual WRC points system and an additional point will be awarded for each fastest stage time.

DMACK will supply upgraded versions of its Grippa range of gravel and asphalt tyres to Junior WRC competitors and will award the top prize of a seven-round WRC 2 campaign in 2018 at the wheel of a Ford Fiesta R5. The prize has been broken down into four parts to give drivers more chances of success.

The competitor with the most points after the Tour de Corse and Rally Italia Sardegna will secure two prize drives. The same is on offer for the winner of Rally Poland and Rally Finland combined, and also for ADAC Rallye Deutschland and RACC Rally España combined. A seventh prize drive will be awarded to the overall championship winner.

The Junior WRC's £150,000 entry fee includes Priority Entry, DMACK tyres, fuel, service facilities and rally car rental. Entries are now open with the initial selection date taking place on 3 February 2017.

To request more information or a registration form click here.


More News