Monday | 17 Nov 2014

Junior WRC evolves for 2015

Next year’s FIA Junior WRC for young drivers will feature more events than 2014 and will give competitors the freedom to nominate their points scoring rounds.

Championship organisers Citroën Racing and the FIA have announced a seven-event calendar for 2015 (up from six in 2014) from which drivers must choose six rounds to score points.

Lefebvre secured the 2014 title in France

The European-based calendar includes four rounds on gravel, two on tarmac and one mixed-surface event, to reflect more accurately the character of the World Rally Championship.

Rallye Deutschland has been dropped from the selection, while Monte Carlo and Spain are new additions.

Drivers, who must be aged under 28, will compete in Citroen DS3 R3 cars equipped with the MAX kit that was homologated earlier this year.

The winner will receive a programme of six rallies in Europe in a DS3 R5, competing in the 2016 FIA WRC2 championship.

Previous JWRC winners include Sébastien Loeb (2001) Dani Sordo (2005), Sébastien Ogier (2008) and Martin Prokop (2009). Loeb’s protégé Stéphane Lefebvre secured the 2014 title with a round to spare in France last month.

Here is the 2015 FIA Junior WRC calendar (subject to FIA approval)

1Rallye Monte Carlo22/25 January
2Vodafone Rally de Portugal21/24 May
3LOTOS Rally Poland2/5 July
4Neste Oil Rally Finland30 July/2 August
5Rallye de France-Alsace1/4 October
6RallyRACC-Rally de Espana22/25 October
7 Wales Rally GB12/15 November