Tuesday | 05 May 2015

18 crews sign up for 2015 FIA Junior WRC

Two weeks before the second round of the FIA Junior WRC kicks off at Vodafone Rally de Portugal, Citroën Racing have announced that 18 crews have entered this year's Championship.

At the wheel of identical DS 3 R3-MAXs, the drivers - who are all under 28 years of age - will fight it out over seven rounds to try to add their name to the list of previous winners headed by Sébastien Loeb, who won the 2001 title.

Marek Nawarecki, Citroën Racing Customer Competition Director, said: “Over the years, Citroën has enabled several drivers to cut their teeth on the WRC stages. Loeb, Dani Sordo, Sébastien Ogier and Martin Prokop all won the Junior title in Citroën cars.

Gilbert and co-driver Renaud Jamoul won in Monte Carlo

"It is ideal for all young drivers who wish to be identified and who want to reach higher levels of the pyramid of talent. Just before the second round at Rally Portugal, this is the most popular promotional formula of the WRC.”

This year's championship features an expanded calendar - up from six rounds in 2014 - from which drivers must nominate six rounds to score points. Drivers are also entered automatically into the FIA WRC 3 Championship.

Fifteen Junior WRC drivers will take to the stages in Portugal, including Frenchman Quentin Gilbert, who won the opening round at Rallye Monte-Carlo.

Current champion Stéphane Lefebvre will also be in Portugal, driving a DS 3 R5 as part of his 2014 prize.

List of entrants, FIA Junior WRC / WRC 3

Car numberDriver Nationality
51Charlotte DalmassoFrance
52Simone TempestiniItaly
53Ole-Christian VeibyNorway
54Daniel McKennaIreland
55Mohammed Al MutawaaUAE
56 Alessandro ReItaly
57Yohann RosselFrance
58Terry FolbFrance
59Kornél Lukács Hungary
60Quentin GilbertFrance
61Christian RiedemannGermany
62Henri HaapamakiFinland
63Federico Della Casa Switzerland
64Osian PryceGreat Britain
65Pierre-Louis LoubetFrance
66Jean-René PerryFrance
67Dean RafteryIreland
68Matthieu MargaillanFrance

More News