Friday | 26 Nov 2021

Neuville and Wydaeghe ace Wolf Power Stage honours

Thierry Neuville and Martijn Wydaeghe were kings of the rally-closing Wolf Power Stage in the 2021 FIA World Rally Championship.

The Belgians were third in the standings ahead of last weekend’s FORUM8 ACI Rally Monza, but fastest time on the closing test at the Italian season finale promoted them to the top of the rankings.

The Hyundai i20 duo enhanced their drivers’ championship score by 35 bonus points accrued from the 12 points-paying live TV finales.

Their second Wolf Power Stage victory of the campaign in Italy gave them a three-point advantage in the standings over team-mates Ott Tänak and Martin Järveoja. WRC champions Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia were a further point behind in third.

Tänak and Martin Järveoja claimed the maximum five points on four occasions, winning the Wolf Power Stage in Portugal, Kenya, Estonia and Belgium.

Neuville and Wydaeghe racked up two top scores, both in Italy, while Ogier and Ingrassia secured maximum points in Monte-Carlo and Croatia. The French pair were the most consistent crew across the season, finishing in the points 11 times in 12 rallies.

Other Wolf Power Stage winners were Kalle Rovanperä and Jonne Halttunen at Finland’s Arctic Rally and in Greece, Elfyn Evans and Scott Martin en route to victory in Finland and Dani Sordo and Candido Carrera on home ground in Spain.

More news