Friday | 03 Sep 2021

Finland entry revealed: Suninen in Polo

Former M-Sport Ford driver Teemu Suninen will return to FIA World Rally Championship action in a Volkswagen Polo GTI at next month’s Secto Automotive Rally Finland (1 - 3 October).

The 27-year-old Finn split with the British team last week after nearly five WRC seasons in Fiestas. He will be back at the wheel in the WRC2 support category with Finnish team Printsport, which is overseeing Movisport Polo entries for Suninen and Nikolay Gryazin.

The pair feature in a strong WRC2 entry headed by reigning champion Mads Østberg in a Citroën C3 Rally2 and WRC3 title holder Jari Huttunen. Huttunen is joined by Oliver Solberg in Hyundai’s new i20 N Rally 2 cars.

Junior WRC champion Tom Kristensson and Martin Prokop drive Fiesta Rally2s, with Georg Linnamäe completing the category field for the Jyväskylä-based fixture in another Polo.

Lappi seals private Yaris drive at Rally Finland

Lappi seals private Yaris drive at ...

Esapekka Lappi will drive a privately-entered Toyota Yaris World Rally Car at Secto Automotive Rally Finland in a move he hopes ...

Read More

Ten headline-category World Rally Cars lead the 43-strong entry. Half are Toyota Yaris cars, with Esapekka Lappi returning to top-level action for the first time in almost a year in a RTE-Motorsport version.

The Finn supplements factory Toyota Gazoo Racing entries for championship leader Sébastien Ogier, Elfyn Evans, Kalle Rovanperä and Takamoto Katsuta.

Craig Breen returns to Hyundai Motorsport’s line-up after making way for Dani Sordo at next week’s EKO Acropolis Rally Greece (9 - 12 September). The Irishman is joined by Thierry Neuville and Ott Tänak in i20 World Rally Cars.

Gus Greensmith and Adrien Fourmaux pilot Fiesta World Rally Cars for M-Sport Ford.

Suninen calls time on M-Sport Ford career

Suninen calls time on M-Sport Ford ...

Finland’s Teemu Suninen has issued a statement that he has left the M-Sport Ford World Rally Team with immediate effect.

Read More

Finns make up more than half the 14-strong WRC3 field, headed by Finnish championship leader Mikko Heikkilä, 2020 national champion Teemu Asunmaa and last season’s runner-up, Emil Lindholm. Eerik Pietarinen, who won WRC2 on home ground in 2018, is also listed.

Lauri Joona, last year’s AKK Flying Finn Future Star, steps up to Rally2 level for the first time in a Škoda Fabia. Joona lies fourth in the FIA Junior WRC which doesn’t include Finland on its schedule.

Spain’s Pepe López and Estonia’s Egon Kaur, currently fifth and sixth in the WRC3 standings, head the series regulars in a Fabia and Polo respectively.

Molly Taylor completes her Ford Fiesta Rally3 programme in Finland

Australia’s Molly Taylor continues her WRC campaign in a Fiesta Rally3, Finland marking the last of three outings following Estonia and Greece. Former Mitsubishi and Škoda works driver Jani Paasonen drives a Fiesta Rally 2 on his first WRC event since 2005.

Riku Bitter, CEO of event organiser AKK Sports, said Finland was pleased to welcome so many top-level drivers for the event’s 70th anniversary edition.

“With such a quality line-up we have no doubt this year’s event will be one of the highlights of the WRC season and talked about for many years to come as the final Rally Finland for World Rally Cars before the hybrid-based Rally1 era begins in 2022,” he added.

The full entry can be seen here.

Read more news