Friday | 17 Dec 2021

Eleven new hybrid Rally1 cars set for Monte-Carlo

Eleven hybrid-powered Rally1 cars are expected to start the new-era FIA World Rally Championship’s opening round in Monte-Carlo next month.

Rallye Monte-Carlo (20 - 23 January) organisers have received a bumper entry exceeding the maximum 75 starters for the winter fixture in the French Alps.

Registrations close today and although the formal list will not be published until 10 January, Automobile Club de Monaco has revealed a list of leading entries in the top-level Rally1 and support categories.

World champions Toyota Gazoo Racing have entered four Yaris Rally1 cars for Sébastien Ogier, Elfyn Evans, Kalle Rovanperä and Takamoto Katsuta. Benjamin Veillas is listed alongside Ogier for the first time following Julien Ingrassia’s retirement.

Video: The best of WRC 2021

Ott Tänak, Thierry Neuville and Oliver Solberg are named in Hyundai Motorsport’s i20 N Rally1.

Four M-Sport Ford Puma Rally1s are expected to start. Craig Breen and Gus Greensmith are confirmed, while Adrien Fourmaux and Sébastien Loeb have been testing the car recently. Neither is named among the provisional starters yet and M-Sport Ford declined to comment on the speculation.

Eighteen cars are listed in WRC2, with six crews named as team entries.

Toksport, runners-up in 2021, have entered reigning champion Andreas Mikkelsen and Nikolay Gryazin in Skoda Fabia Rally2 cars. Mikkelsen has yet to name a co-driver, while another Fabia is allocated for Marco Bulacia.

Sainteloc Junior Team has nominated Eric Camilli and Sean Johnston in Citroën C3s, while WRC3 champion Yohan Rossel will be at the wheel of a PH Sport version, with new co-driver Valentin Sarreaud alongside.

Other WRC2 entries have come from former Peugeot, Hyundai, Mitsubishi and Toyota works driver Freddy Loix (below). The Belgian will drive his first WRC event since 2004 in a Fabia.

Ex-European champion Chris Ingram starts the first of a planned seven-round programme in a Fabia as he steps up a level. Grégoire Munster pilots a Hyundai i20 N Rally2 with Volkswagen Polos for Pierre Ragues and Jean-Michel Raoux.

The new-look WRC3 category has entries from reigning Junior WRC champion Sami Pajari, Enrico Brazzoli and Jan Cerny. All drive Ford Fiesta Rally3 cars.

More news