The FIA Environmental Accreditation Programme is aimed at helping motor sport and mobility stakeholders worldwide to measure and enhance their environmental performance. By introducing a clear and consistent environmental management system, it provides stakeholders with a three-level framework against which to accredit their activities.

In 2016, WRC became the first FIA World Championship to make the 3-star Environmental Accreditation mandatory for all Event organisers. According to WRC Sporting Regulations, all event organisers must obtain the 2-star accreditation in the first year of the event, with an obligation to apply and upgrade for the 3-star level the following year or event.

The 3-star accreditations have a 2-year validity and require an on-site audit performed by an independent, FIA-appointed environmental and ISO-experienced auditor, who evaluates applicants’ full compliance and fulfilment of requirements within the environmental management framework, in particular regarding the following mandatory environmental management and impact areas:


Core Principles of Environmental Management

 Environmental management commitment

Environmental Objectives and Targets

Environmental Communication and Training

Compliance with Environmental Regulations

Measuring Environmental Performance


Key Environmental Impact Areas

Energy use

Waste management

Prevention of ground and water pollution

Supply chain, design and materials (procurement)


Monitoring of Carbon Emissions


Even when attaining the highest level of environmental accreditation, applicants are provided with a set of recommendations to perform even better and always aim at continuously improving their environmental management performance. 

WRC Promoter constantly works with current and future event organisers, as well as teams, partners, suppliers, and other stakeholders to widen the reach of the programme, share best environmental management practices and join a common effort in minimizing our impact on the environment.