Categories in 2021: WRC / WRC2 / WRC3 / Junior WRC


WRC is the championship’s headline category and the spectacular new-era World Rally Cars are driven by superstars such as Sébastien Ogier, Sébastien Loeb, Thierry Neuville and Ott Tänak. 

Three manufacturers compete for drivers’, co-drivers’ and manufacturers’ world titles across all championship rounds. All rallies count towards the final standings.

Look out for: Ford Fiesta, Hyundai i20, Toyota Yaris.


Getting technical:

  • Technical Group: Rally 1
  • Referred to as World Rally Cars
  • 1.6-litre, fuel injection, turbocharged, four cylinder engines fitted with a 36mm air intake restrictor
  • Power output restricted to 380bhp
  • Cylinder block and head based on those in the standard road car
  • Modifications allowed to crankshafts, con rods, pistons, cylinder linings, valves and camshafts
  • Permanent four-wheel drive, six-speed sequential gearbox with paddle-shift on steering
  • Mechanical front and rear differentials. Active centre differential
  • 7 x 15inch wheels for gravel, 8 x 18inch wheels for asphalt
  • 300mm diameter brakes for gravel, 370mm for asphalt
  • Weight: 1190kg minimum. 1350kg with driver and co-driver
  • 0-100kph in less than 4sec
  • Top speed exceeds 200kph

WRC Videos