Friday | 29 Nov 2019

Result: Driver of the Year

Result: Driver of the Year

World champion Ott Tänak has been crowned WRC Driver of the Year for the fourth consecutive season in our prestigious year-end awards.

Tänak secured his maiden drivers’ title in what proved to be the final round in Spain. The Toyota Gazoo Racing pilot won six rounds in his Yaris World Rally Car to claim the championship by 36 points from Thierry Neuville.

The 32-year-old Estonian, whose co-driver Martin Järveoja was yesterday named Co-driver of the Year, topped a poll of 14 drivers who represented manufacturer teams registered in this season’s WRC.

Runner-up in the voting was Neuville, with nine-time world champion Sébastien Loeb claiming third place.

Tänak received his award in Coffs Harbour at Kennards Rally Australia and said: “Obviously I have a trophy back home too, so it’s been a great season.

“We had a lot of challenges and we managed to get over these. It’s finally great to win the championship and obviously we’ve had a lot of support from the fans so I’m looking forward to upcoming years.”


More News