Who competes in WRC2?

WRC2 is the home for all Rally2 cars, the sport’s second tier behind the new hybrid-powered Rally1 cars. The main cars to look out for are:

  • Citroën C3
  • Ford Fiesta
  • Hyundai i20 N
  • Skoda Fabia
  • Volkswagen Polo GTI


Technical Specifications

  • Technical Group: Rally2 
  • At least 2500 examples of these road cars must have been manufactured in the previous 12 months
  • 1.6-litre, fuel injection, turbocharged, four cylinder engines fitted with a 32mm air intake restrictor
  • Power output about 285bhp
  • Cylinder block and head based on those in the standard road car
  • Modifications allowed to crankshafts, con rods, pistons, cylinder linings, valves and camshafts
  • Permanent four-wheel drive, five-speed sequential gearbox with paddle-shift on steering
  • Mechanical front and rear differentials
  • 7 x 15inch wheels for gravel, 8 x 18inch wheels for asphalt
  • 300mm diameter brakes for gravel, 355mm for asphalt
  • Weight: 1230kg minimum. 1390kg with driver and co-driver


How does the WRC2 Open Championship work?

Every round of the WRC season features WRC2, but drivers and co-drivers can only nominate seven scoring rounds. Their best six results count.


Are there other classes within WRC2?

Yes. Drivers and co-drivers under the age of 30 are eligible for the WRC2 Junior Championships. At the other end of the spectrum, drivers and co-drivers over the age of 50  are eligible for the WRC Masters Cup.


How does the WRC2 Teams’ Championship work?

Some drivers competing in WRC2 will also be scoring points for teams, such as Toksport and Sainteloc Racing.. A team can nominate two drivers per rally to score points.. Teams can enter up to six rallies in Europe and one outside Europe. Their five best European scores and the long-haul rally will determine their final standing.


Are there Power Stage points?

Yes, the three fastest drivers on the final stage of the weekend will score three, two and one points. These points count towards their overall championship standing.


What do the letters stand for next to a driver’s name on the entry sheet in WRC2?

The letters next to a driver pairing on the entry list notify what categories they will be scoring points for on a certain rally. This is what each letter stands for:

  • T –Teams championship
  • D –Drivers’ championship
  • C - Co-drivers championship
  • DJ –Drivers Championship and Junior Cup
  • DM- Drivers championship and Masters Cup
  • CJ - Co-drivers championship and Junior Cup
  • CM –Co-drivers championship and Masters Cup