Determined, ruthless and tactically shrewd, Ogier has won seven world titles, including six in a row from 2013 to 2018, with three different manufacturers. He delayed his previously-announced retirement for one final campaign with Toyota Gazoo Racing in 2021 before leaving from the WRC. One of the WRC’s all-time greats.

Nationality FRA
Date of Birth 17.12.1983
Birthplace GAP, Hautes-Alpes
First Rally 2008, Mexico
Rally Wins 50
Website https://www.sebastien-ogier.com/fr/

The story so far

A versatile sportsman, Ogier was a ski instructor and professional boules player before he embarked on a rallying career at the age of 22.

His path to success mirrored that of nine-time champion Sébastien Loeb: both made their mark in two-wheel-drive, 1600cc Citroëns before stepping up to the big league with the French manufacturer.

Ogier stormed to the FIA Junior World Rally Championship crown in 2008 and a six-round WRC programme with the Citroën Junior Team followed a year later. Despite a succession of accidents, Citroën chiefs stuck by their man and Ogier took victories in Portugal and Japan in 2010.

A place in the main Citroën team was Ogier’s reward for 2011, and he took the fight to team-mate Loeb by winning three rounds early on. However, the season turned sour in Germany where he was instructed not to challenge Loeb for the lead.

Unwilling to accept a supporting role in the team, he signed to Volkswagen’s fledgling WRC squad in 2012, driving an S2000-spec Skoda in preparation for a World Rally Car programme the following year.

It was a move that paid off. Ogier was crowned world champion for the first time in 2013 after taking nine wins. The success story continued with further titles in 2014 and 2015, the Frenchman claiming eight wins in each campaign.

He clinched title number four at Rally GB in 2016, but celebrations were short-lived when, two days later, Volkswagen announced it would end its WRC programme.

Suddenly, when the 2017 driver market had seemed settled, the reigning world champion was available – and in demand. He tested Toyota’s Yaris and the Ford Fiesta before deciding to join M-Sport Ford.

It proved a great decision and further titles followed in 2017 and 2018, before a switch to Citroën Racing for 2019. His winning run came to an end at the French squad, but Ogier joined Toyota Gazoo Racing and snatched a seventh world crown at the 2020 season finale.

The story so far


Working with Sébastien Ogier, he became World Rally Champion in 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016 with Volkswagen Motorsport, and 2017 ...

Read More
Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team

Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally ...

A new entrant to the championship in 2017, the Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT represents the long-awaited WRC comeback for Toyota - a ...

Read More