Event History

  • First run in 1950 when it was called the Rally to the Midnight Sun as it was held in summer. It became a winter event in 1965.
  • It featured in the inaugural championship in 1973 and has been dominated by Nordic drivers, who won every year until 2004 when Sébastien Loeb broke the mould.
  • Sébastien Ogier, 2018 victor Thierry Neuville and 2019 winner Ott Tänak are the only other ‘outsiders’ to win.
  • Stig Blomqvist and Marcus Grönholm top the roll of honour with five wins each.
Rally Sweden History impressions