• First held in 1969, Rally New Zealand made its FIA World Rally Championship debut in 1977. That year, Italian driver Fulvio Bacchelli won the event in a Fiat 131 Abarth.

  • Auckland has been the base for the majority of Rally New Zealand events. From 2006 to 2008 it moved to Hamilton, but returned to Auckland in 2010.

  • Rally New Zealand holds the record for the second-closest WRC finish in history. In 2007 - after more than 350 kilometres of action - Marcus Grönholm edged Sébastien Loeb by three-tenths of a second. It was only beaten by the Jordan Rally in 2011 when Sébastien Ogier won by two-tenths of a second over Jari-Matti Latvala. 

  • Grönholm tops the roll of honour with five wins. Three of those were in a Peugeot 206 World Rally Car, with the other two coming at the helm of a Ford Focus.

  • The event dropped off the calendar after 2012. It was supposed to feature in 2020 but got cancelled due to the global pandemic.