WRC Guanajuato Rally México

Back on the calendar for the first time since 2020, México is the season’s opening gravel round and a truly fascinating fixture. Based in the country’s fifth largest city of León, 400km north-west of Mexico City, the stages climb to the thin air and stunning scenery of the Sierra de Lobos and Sierra de Guanajuato mountains.

WRC Guanajuato Rally México
Date 16 - 19 March 2023
Entry List Download (PDF)
Servicepark León, Guanajuato
Itinerary/Schedule Download (PDF)
Website https://www.rallymexico.com/
Hashtag #RallyMexico
Spectator information Link
Watch the rally Live Stream / TV Guide

About the rally

After the chilly start to the season with Rallye Monte-Carlo and Rally Sweden, the WRC crews can dig out their summer caps as the championship rolls into León, Mexico.

First held as a WRC round in 2004, Guanajuato Rally México is back on the calendar this season after taking a two-year sabbatical. This one is a true test of man and machine.

On gruelling gravel stages in the mountains of the state of Guanajuato, the cars struggle to breathe as the drivers traverse dusty, sandy roads up to 2700m above sea level.

It's also the only rally on the WRC calendar where the winning crew are presented with a pair of cowboy boots...

Sébastiens Loeb and Ogier are the only drivers to have won the event on multiple occasions. They top the roll of honour with six victories apiece.

Rally Guanajuato México 2023 - Trailer

Top 3 Highlights

  • With temperatures nearing 30°C and high altitudes putting additional strain on engines, this really is a brutal test of man and machine.
  • The carnival atmosphere during Thursday evening’s start ceremony is not to be missed. It’s quickly followed by back-to-back runs of the famous Guanajuato street stage.
  • Stages 3 and 6 on Friday pass through a village called El Chocolate. Some say the village has been using cocoa beans to make chocolate for almost 4000 years!


Based at the Rally Campus in León.


Event History

  • First held in 1979, the rally moved to León in 1998 and joined WRC in 2004.
  • The 2007 rally was the shortest in WRC history with a total distance of less than 850km. It still included more than 366km of stages and more than 43 per cent was competitive.
  • Sébastien Loeb scored six consecutive wins between 2006 and 2012 (the rally was absent in 2009 due to rotation).


Roll of Honour



Years won



Sébastien Loeb

Sébastien Ogier

2006-2008, 2010-2012

2013-2015, 2018-2020

Roll of Honour