Junior WRC

The Junior WRC is the place to find the rally stars of the future.

Open to drivers aged 28 or under, it represents a cost effective route onto the stages of the World Rally Championship. Previous winners include Sébastien Loeb (2001) Dani Sordo (2005), Sébastien Ogier (2008) and Elfyn Evans (2012).

For 2016 all competitors will drive identical 1600cc, two-wheel drive Citroën's DS 3 R3-MAX cars and will also be entered into the WRC 3 championship. The JWRC champion will win a prize drive in the 2017 WRC 2 championship at the wheel of an R5 spec DS 3.

The championship begins its six-round calendar at Rally de Portugal, and follows with the events in Poland, Finland, Germany, France and GB.

In addition to the Drivers’ and Co-drivers’ title, a Nations Trophy is awarded at the end of the season.  

Getting technical:

  • All JWRC competitors will drive Citroen DS3 R3-MAX cars
  • Cars are front-wheel drive and have a 1.6 litre turbo engine that develops just over 230bhp
  • The gearbox is a six-speed sequential, electronically controlled with steering wheel-mounted paddle
  • Including drivers, the cars must weigh a minimum of 1230kg

01 Apr 2014